Shock, bewilderment, depression – emotions are rife at the scene of any accident. This is particularly true when a person suffers an injury due to another driver’s blatant negligence.
When people decide to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, they are endangering their own lives, as well as the lives of their passengers and other road users. Sadly, drunk driving is deplorably common in New Mexico: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) warns that 1,254 people were killed on the state’s roads in alcohol-related accidents between 2003 and 2012.
Although there are many reasons why the drunk-driving rate in our state is higher than the national average, a recent study by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) highlights one primary contributing factor: New Mexico’s drunk-driving laws are relatively lenient, so motorists are less discouraged from breaking the rules.
If you were injured or lost a family member due to an intoxicated driver in New Mexico, turn to The Law Office of Brian K. Branch, PC. An injury attorney in Albuquerque will help you fight for compensation to pay for health-care expenses, lost income and non-economic damages.
Call 505-207-4401 to schedule a free initial consultation. You can also visit USAttorneys.com to learn more about drunk-driving injury lawsuits in New Mexico.
Prevent Drunk Driving Accidents: 4 Steps to Take If You Believe a Driver Is Intoxicated
The MADD report was critical of New Mexico’s lack of legislation that makes driving drunk with a child passenger an added offense. Our state also lacks important laws related to breathalyzers, urine tests and blood tests on suspected intoxicated drivers.
Drunk driving contributed to more than 30 percent of all motor-vehicle accidents in the United States in 2014, according to the CDC. The reason? Alcohol impairs decision-making, distance perception and coordination – all of which are essential faculties for safe driving.
Here are four steps to take if you suspect another motorist is intoxicated:
Keep Your Distance: Stay far away from the other vehicle;
Do Not Stop the Driver: Do not try to stop the driver – he or she may speed up or behave recklessly to get away from you;
Record the Vehicle’s Details: Write down the vehicle’s license plate number, make, model and color; and
Call the Police: Pull over to a safe place and call 911. Tell the police where you are and where the suspected drunk driver is heading, and provide a description of the vehicle.
If you were hurt by a drunk, distracted or negligent driver, contact an Albuquerque injury attorney from The Law Office of Brian K. Branch, PC. Our lawyers will evaluate your crash, gather evidence, interview witnesses and help you pursue justice and compensation from the at-fault motorist.
With a combined 32 years in legal practice, our team has the experience and professionalism to guide you through this difficult time. Call 505-207-4401 to schedule a free initial consultation.
By Brian Branch|2023-10-19T15:38:43+00:00December 19th, 2016|personal injury|Comments Off on 4 Steps To Take If You Spot A Drunk Driver