According to KRQE News 13, a tragic collision between a truck and a passenger vehicle resulted in the death of a 7-year-old boy. The accident happened on Highway 285 just outside of Artesia.
The boy was riding in a car with his 2-year-old sister and 47-year-old grandmother when a truck broadsided their vehicle. Police determined that the woman was turning onto a side road when the incident occurred, and no one in the car was wearing a seatbelt at the time.
Responders found the woman and her granddaughter seriously hurt. The boy sustained fatal injuries. Police have not determined which driver was at fault, and the case remains under investigation.
If you lost a loved one in a motor vehicle collision and you want to hold the liable party accountable, contact The Law Office of Brian K. Branch. With a combined 32 years in legal practice, our attorneys have the experience and professionalism to help you through this tough time.
At the end of the day, we will fight relentlessly on your behalf to help you secure the compensation you deserve. Call 505-764-9710 to schedule a free case evaluation with a wrongful death attorney in Albuquerque.
How Long Do You Have to File a Wrongful Death Claim in New Mexico?
When it comes to wrongful death claims, every state has its own statute of limitations. This filing deadline is to prevent so much time from passing between the incident and the lawsuit that critical pieces of evidence no longer exist.
In the state of New Mexico, the personal representative of the deceased’s estate typically has three years from the date of death to file a claim on behalf of the surviving family members. It is important to keep in mind that there are exceptions to this statute, though, and certain scenarios might “pause the clock.” Thus, even if more than three years has passed since your loved one died, you may still be able to secure compensation for the damages you incurred as a result.
Of course, just as there are factors that can extend the deadline, there are also situations in which it is cut short. For example, if you want to sue a government entity for the death of a relative, you typically have just six months to notify the appropriate agency.
If the deadline passes before your family has a chance to bring a claim against the party liable for your loved one’s death, the court will likely throw out the case, which will prevent you from securing any compensation whatsoever. For this reason, it is wise to call a wrongful death attorney as soon as you think you may have grounds for a claim.
If you are looking for a compassionate wrongful death lawyer in Albuquerque, contact The Law Office of Brian K. Branch. Our primary areas of practice include serious personal injury, premises liability, products liability, oilfield accidents, wrongful death, and insurance bad faith.
Call 505-764-9710 to schedule a free consultation. You can learn more about wrongful death claims in New Mexico by visiting USAttorneys.com.